review: breaking dawn part two (SPOILER ALERT).

Warning: SPOILER ALERT

This summer’s release of Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part Two is a thrilling event for all, both the Twihards and the haters, who will come together this November to witness the end of Stephenie Meyer’s vampire phenomenon, which has inevitably sparked a new age in contemporary literature. Whether uniting to pay tribute to the climatic ending of the sci-fi romance of Edward and Bella, or to joyously celebrate the Saga’s final conclusion (haters, I can hear you cheering from here), this last installment will give both sides of the party something to applaud.

Whilst I am a big fan of Twilight myself (I feel some sort of shame in admitting to it), I was never thrilled with the books, as written by Meyer as a four-part epic on the love between a vampire and a mortal. I found the writing to be tedious, and not engaging enough for my reading habits, but I can definitely see how others may have found enjoyment in it. My own pleasure, however, came from the film renditions of each of the novels, especially New Moon. But like all Sagas, I found that the narrative strayed from a light-hearted, highschool love story into a dark and gruesome explosion of action sequences by the time Breaking Dawn Part One rolled around. Then again, the same thing happened with Harry Potter (God bless, J.K. Rowling).

Into the jist of things, Breaking Dawn Part Two is on a whole other level to the other three films, and I mean that without cliche intentions. The filmography and acting is absolutely pristine and the makeup artist should be given a pay rise. I feel obliged to admit that Kristen Stewart wowed me (for once) with her portrayal of the vampire Bella Swan. Perhaps her bluntness and similarities to a brick wall in all other films, was just a lead up to give her a red-carpet entrance to the red-eyed stunner that is Edward’s “newborn” bride, and Renesmee’s mother. Her “sex-appeal”, most obviously put on to represent the alluring attitudes of what a Twilight vampire should adopt, was way above par with my expectations. And it was nice to witness the absense of her awkward “fits” in her character, as opposed to the many, many moments in the other movies (I’m thinking the hospital bed in the first film).

While I am trying extremely hard not to plunge into the tiny details and specifics of the film, only to ruin it for those who are yet to see it, I do feel that I have to mention the spectacular directing and screenplay decision to include a major sequence, which is not as follows in the novel itself. Usually I absolutely detest film adaptations straying from the boundaries of the novel’s actual storyline, but Part Two does something cliche which strips it from actually being cliche in any way at all. I’m talking about the action-packed fighting sequence between the Volturi and the Cullen’s clan, where Alice intends to show Aro how Renesmee will in no way, affect the futures of vampires around the world. Somehow, the director has managed to blur the lines between reality and “what-could-have-been”, in this particular scene, and as viewers, we excruciatingly witness the deaths of a few major characters–(I apologise to those seated near me who had to endulge my weeping and squealing out of shock). It is the very moment at the end of this particular segment in the film, however, that made me say “Bravo” to the film crew. The number of heads that went rolling, though, did begin to make me feel like I was viewing an episode of Game of Thrones. Heads will definitely roll in this one.

Simply, they use the “I woke up and it was all a dream” cliche to erase the deaths of those we loved most in the Saga, who were wiped out in a matter of seconds in Part Two. The use of this in the film could have ripped it apart and given critics a field day (in writing, this cliche is the number one “DO NOT EVER” technique in storytelling).

I could go on for lengths about this film and the justice that it has done the Saga, but I would risk revealing every little event in the movie and novel, or perhaps lose a few readers out of their hatred for the vampire phenomenon itself. So I’ll stop here, but not before giving Twilight one last commendable note:

If you have ever enjoyed Twilight, even if only slightly, I highly recommend that you see this last installment. It is thrilling and eventful through to the last second, and leaves most of its awkward moments and sometimes laughable acting, in the last films. Kristen Stewart steps up onto the stage with a side of Bella Swan that is truly applaudable, and makes up for her lack of personality previously. It was also nice to see Rob Pattinson crack a smile more than once on the screen in this one. Taylor Launter, as usual, pays respects to his audience by taking off his top and Dakota Fanning is still the creepy blonde that I swore was a toddler before Part One.

Truly impressive.

Rating: 4/5.

P.S. Who is Joe Anderson? And why was he not a lead in this Saga!?

