bloody Times.

Today America experienced yet another distressing shooting–two people shot dead in front of the Empire State Building, after a man rampaged on location, killing a work colleague and resulting in his own death from police fire. Not long after the Colorado Aurora shootings, gun laws were forced into questioning by much of the nation, including myself, but I am now beginning to question the moral and ethical values (and perhaps simple respect) of the journalist industry.

I am a journalist; I love being one, I love aspiring to be a better one. But when I see professional giants such as New York Times, publishing irresponsible and disrespectful images for the simple support of “news day ratings”, I fear being a part of the industry.

After the shootings in the past 24 hours, New York Times published a graphic photo of a victim shot dead outside the Empire State Building, his arms flayed and blood pouring from his skull onto the concrete. The photo is clearly birds-eye view, and a mobile-snapped photograph. Still, news day or not, it should not have been posted for all of the world, via Twitter, to see. It wasn’t even something I could avoid. It was posted on my feed, by the Times.

A representative of the Times has expressed that the photograph was “news worthy”. What about family and friends of that poor victim? Is it news worthy to, perhaps, inform them of their loved one’s death, through a vile image on social-networking?

I refuse to repost the picture here in my post, out of sheer respect.

Some journalists have morals.

