king of the jungle.

After a recent visit to Jamaica, rapper Snoop Dogg came to make the decision to drop his iconic stage-name and instead take up Snoop Lion.

Claiming he had experienced a “spiritual and artistic rebirth” the 40-year old told journalists in a New York news conference that he had learnt what life was meant to be all about.

Snoop Dogg reincarnates to Snoop Lion.

“I want to bury Snoop Dogg, and become Snoop Lion,” he said.

“I didn’t know that until I went to the temple, where the High Priest asked me what my name was, and I said ‘Snoop Dogg’. And he looked me in my eyes and said, ‘No more. You are the light; you are the lion.’ From that moment on, its like I had started to understand why I was there.”

With the new name comes a new music genre, as preparations for his new album commence with reggae vibes in mind. In a statement to the press, Snoop Dogg (Lion? Dogg?) confessed he no longer found any challenge in rapping.

“There comes a point where you say I done it all, or there isn’t much more to do.”

His newest album will be titledĀ Reincarnated.

