who’s the fairest of them all?

When it comes to films, I can be quite hard to please. And by that I mean, if it isn’t a vampire romance or wizarding mayhem, then chances are I’m going to be pretty judgemental. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m all for a great comedy. I’m hilarious. Not really. But I love a good laugh.

That’s why I thought I’d get a chuckle out of Kristen Stewart’s apparently appalling performance in Snow White and The Huntsman. Admittedly, I had already had desires to see the fairytale remake, but hesitated at the thought of seeing Stewart in another fantasy web that isn’t always suited for her to crawl into. Fortunately for her though, she had me nodding in favour of her attempt to be the not-so-Disney Snow White.

Before I elaborate on my commendations on this film, I should probably confess that I am a complete pessimist when it comes to fairytale phenomenons, even including the originals; it’s not my forte, and I usually don’t get a kick out of it. I’m a realist…that enjoys vampires…and magic.

But that is what caught me so off guard about my fondness of the film in its entirety. Perhaps it was the stunning special effects and computerisation of the environment beyond the filmset, or the dramatic play on the original Snow White tradition…either of them could be held as a winner for catching my approval. What was even more applaudable, was Charlize Theron’s remarkable performance as the Evil Queen. Simply put, she was phenomenal, though I did find it hard to suppress my utter jealousy of her breathtaking beauty. The casting team couldn’t have picked a better actress/model for the part.

Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen.

For the past two weeks I have been hearing mixed reviews about Rupert Sander’s production, but one common thought that related them to each other, was Kristen Stewart’s familiar dullness and lack of personality in her performance. As stated in my previous blog post on Snow White, I expressed my hatred for her boring display in the Twilight Saga, despite my complete obsession with it. But after witnessing Stewart’s latest work, she has me second guessing. Before I go too overboard on detailing her role as the “fairest of them all”, it is necessary that I remark that she was still as timid and awkward as ever, especially when riding horses, and she has this remarkable knack for re-enacting Twilight scenes. You’ll understand what I mean by this when you see the film for yourself. It’s uncanny how much her character of Bella can still be identified in Snow White. This, however, is also part of the director’s work.

Kristen Stewart as Snow White.

Though Kristen Stewart is not always the first actress that comes to mind when thinking of playing a character such as Snow White, whom is set out in this role to be the most stunning “in all the land”, she uses her unique appearance to relate to the everyday-woman. Any feminist can rise up against the Evil Queen and give beauty back into a deadened land, right? If the casting had of been reversed, with Charlize Theron as Snow White, perhaps females wouldn’t sympathise with Snow White’s character so much. After all, I found myself completely envious of Theron’s evil beauty and allure.

The males of the film were second-best, and I actually found myself slightly disappointed in Chris Hemsworth’s performance. Perhaps this can be blamed on his common character, and the mere fact that his role as The Hunstman is so much like Thor in personality. I just can’t seem to get him out of that damn Avenger’s outfit, or get that hammer out of his hand. But what do you know, he turned out to be Prince Charming.

All-in-all though, Snow White and The Huntsman definitely won my heart over.

☆☆☆ 1/2

(out of 5)

