what’s close to the heart, stays in the heart.

Recently I have been warmed graciously by the kindness, generosity of some people in my life; sometimes all it takes for your heart to tick, is a little bit of cherished purpose that comes your way. I spend a lot of my time writing, reading and wondering about the ways of life, the joys of the world and the impossibilities that I will face. When will it be, the day that I reach my end? How will I meet it? But even before then, what thrilling and engrossing events will capture my heart, or have me soaring with joy? They are your typical questions – “What is the purpose of life?” – but they have you living each and everyday just to find out.

I will probably never find out the meaning of life, but at least I will know I have found people that make it meaningful.

Sometimes these certain people do nothing more than remind you that they exist. They don’t have to be next to you, holding you or even talking to you; they just have to exist. Existence is a vital and prominent feature of our own faith. If we know of existence, that certain delight that the ones who make us happy are there somewhere in the world, then we ourselves can exist. They may be a stranger who smiled at you as you passed them on the walkway, they may be an elderly gentleman who was filled with excitement as he happily talked to you about his collection of Matchbox cars during your shift at work. They may be someone you came across on your virtual journey on the internet. They exist, and truly, that is all that matters.

Of course, like we have all experienced, these people will leave our presence behind. They will no longer be able to show they are there in the physical world, but physicality is only one feature of life’s essences. Emotionally, spiritually, they are there and always will be. That warm feeling in your heart? That’s them. “Hello,” they say – that warmth in your heart.

I will probably never find out the meaning of life, but at least I will know I have found people that make it meaningful.

